2019 JUNO Award Winners

2019 JUNO Award Winners

The 2019 JUNO Awards took place on March 17 at the Budweiser Gardens in London, Ontario. The JUNO Awards are Canada’s biggest music awards and are produced by The Canadian Academy of Recording Arts and Sciences (CARAS) and CBC. This year’s show was hosted by Sarah McLachlan.

Many FAI Official Showcase alumni were nominated this year, including Jeremy Dutcher and Leonard Sumner (Indigenous Music Album of the Year); AHI, Kaia Kater, and the Deep Dark Woods (Contemporary Roots Album of the Year); David Francey, Pharis and Jason Romero, The Slocan Ramblers, The Wailin’ Jennys, and Vishtèn (Traditional Roots Album of the Year); Samantha Martin & Delta Sugar (Blues Album of the Year); Boogát (World Music Album of the Year); and Aerialists, Gordon Grdina, and The Fretless (Instrumental Album of the Year).

Congratulations to all the nominees, and Jeremy Dutcher for winning Indigenous Music Album of the Year, Pharis and Jason Romero for winning Traditional Roots Album of the Year, and Gordon Grdina for winning Instrumental Album of the Year!

Indigenous Music Album of the Year

Jeremy Dutcher by Matt Barnes
Photo by Matt Barnes

Traditional Roots Album of the Year

Pharis and Jason Romero by Forrest Gibson
Photo by Forrest Gibson

Instrumental Album of the Year

Click here to see all of the winners from last night’s JUNO Awards.